This article is for Administrators, anyone who is responsible creating new users in the Data Republic platform and managing user permissions.

In this article, you will learn about:

Prerequisites:

  • You have been given Organization Admin permissions in the Data Republic platform

Optional - Prerequisites for Organizations using Single Sign-on (SS)

  • User's email has the same domain name as the SSO settings on Data Republic Platform
  • User is enabled on your Organization's Identity Provider (IdP) and has been added to the required group on your IdP. If you are unsure if this step has been completed please contact your Organization's IT team.

Inviting a new user

Navigate to the top right corner in the Data Republic platform.
1. Click the persons icon and click Organizations.

2. Click on the Name of your Organization.

Click Users.

Click Invite User.

3. Fill in email for the new user

4a. Click on one of the buttons for 'Data Manager', 'Data Governance Manager', 'Analyst', or 'Admin'  to auto-populate related permissions in the right column. The role templates are guides for access permissions based on a user's role in the project. 

Select from one of four templates:

  • Admin - provides full access to all permissions.
  • Data Governance Manager - provides full access to manage data, including data license and data listing approval permissions; they do not have access to admin functions. 
  • Data Manager - provides full access to manage data; they do not have access to approve data licenses or admin functions.
  • Analyst - access only to manage data, workspaces and view the Catalog. 

4b. You may further add or remove permissions based on your organization's requirements.

5. Selecting or removing user permissions:

To move permissions from the Selected Permissions column to the Available Permissions column or vice versa, use the: 

Learn more about managing user permissions

  • '>' button: to assign a single permission
  • '<'  button: to remove a single permission
  • '>>' button: to assign all permissions
  • '<<' button: to remove all permission

6. When you have selected the permissions you want to assign, click Invite user. 

Note: User invites automatically expire after 1 week

Tracking user invites

You can track sent, cancelled and expired invites and take next steps by:

Navigating to the top right corner in the Data Republic platform.
1. Click the persons icon and click Organizations.

2. Click on the Name of your Organization.

3. Click Invited Users

A list of your pending, cancelled, and expired invites will show. Users that have accepted their invite will show in the Users tab.

Cancelling user invites

If you have made a mistake when inviting a new user, or the user you have invited no longer needs to access Data Republic, you can cancel their pending invite from the Invited Users tab.

1. Click on the email address of the user

2. Click the Cancel Invitation button at the bottom of the screen

3. Click Confirm on the pop up to proceed

Resend user invites

If you want to resend an invite to a user whose invite has expired or been cancelled, you can do so from the Invited Users tab.

1. Click on the email address of the user

2. Click Resend invitation

3. Click Confirm on the pop up to proceed

Updating user permissions

Navigate to the top right corner in the Data Republic platform.
1. Click the persons icon and click Organizations.

2. Click Organization Details, next to the name of your Organization.

3. Click Users.

4. Click Edit User next to the user you want to update.

5 Update user permissions as required. Note: email address cannot be updated.

To move permissions from the Selected Permissions column to the Available Permissions column or vice versa, use the:

  • '>' button: to assign a single permission
  • '<' button: to remove a single permission
  • '>>' button: to assign all permissions
  • '<<' button: to remove all permission

When you have selected the permissions you want to assign, click Update User to save any changes. 
Note: The user will receive an email to advise them that their user account has been updated.

Deactivate users

1. To deactivate a user, navigate to the user's profile, click the 'Deactivate user' button on the bottom right.

Note: You no longer need to remove user permissions as part of the deactivation process. If this user is reactivated, they will keep the same permissions.

2. Confirm user deactivation by clicking ‘ok’ to the popup notification to confirm that you would like to deactivate this user.

Once the user is deactivated, they will appear in the 'Deactivated Users' tab in the Org Admin screen, and the user will be notified by email that their Data Republic account has been deactivated.

Note: While deactivated, users will not receive email notifications from the platform. Currently, users will receive notifications from conversations of projects they are in. This will be resolved in the next release in mid January 2021.

Re-activate users

1. Navigate to the Users profile in the “Deactivated Users” tab

2. To reactivate a user’s account in your organization, click the ‘Reactivate user’ button on the bottom right

3. To confirm user reactivation, click ‘ok’ to the popup notification to confirm that you would like to reactivate this user.

The user is now re-activated, with all of their previous permissions and they will be notified by email that their access to Data Republic has been reinstated. If their permissions were removed, new permissions will need to assigned to the user’s profile.

Managing user permissions
Approval workflows

Did this answer your question?