This article is for Administrators, anyone who is responsible creating new users in Senate and managing user permissions.

  1. Creating a new user
  2. Updating user permissions

Creating a new user

Navigate to the top right corner in Senate.
Click the persons icon and click Organizations.

Click on the Name of your Organization.

Click Users.

Click Create User.

1. Fill in user details: first name, last name and email address.

2a. Click  on one of the buttons for 'Data Manager', 'Data Governance Manager', 'Analyst', or 'Admin'  to auto-populate related permissions in the right column. The role templates are guides for access permissions based on a user's role in the project. 

Select from one of four templates:

  • Admin - provides full access to all permissions.
  • Data Governance Manager - provides full access to manage data, including workflow approval permissions. No access to admin or reporting functions. 
  • Data Manager - provides full access to manage data. No access to approve data licenses, term sheets, admin or reporting. 
  • Analyst - only access to manage data, conversations, workspaces and view the Catalog. 

2b. You may further add or remove permissions based on your organization's requirements.

3. Selecting or removing user permissions:

To move permissions from the Selected Permissions column to the Available Permissions column or vice versa, use the: 

  • '>' button: to assign a single permission
  • '<'  button: to remove a single permission
  • '>>' button: to assign all permissions
  • '<<' button: to remove all permission

When you have selected the permissions you want to assign, click Create user. 

Learn more about managing user permissions

Updating user permissions

Navigate to the top right corner in Senate.
Click the persons icon and click Organizations.

Click Organization Details, next to the name of your Organization.

Click Users.

Click Edit User next to the user you want to update.

Update first name, last name and user permissions as required.
Note: email address cannot be updated.

Refer to steps 2a, 2b and 3 and repeat to edit the user permissions. 

Click Update User to save any changes. 

Related articles:

Managing user permissions
Approval workflows

Did this answer your question?