Use the project’s Conversations tab to communicate with project members. Use it to discuss important topics for the project, including

  • project aims and expected outcomes

  • permitted use of data and licensing

  • data sets to use and how access them

Prerequisites

In this article you will learn about:

Types of Conversations

There are two types of conversation:

  • the default conversation which is created automatically when you create a project. Everyone who is part of your project is part of this conversation, even if you add them to the project later.

  • restricted access conversations where only the people you invite have access to the conversation. People you add to this conversation can also invite other project members to join.

Avoid the temptation to create conversations for each topic. Instead, think of conversations as groups of people you need to discuss a range of issues with. If you have too many conversations you may lose track of who said what where.

The project's default conversation

The default conversation has the same name as the project.

If you want to restrict the communications to a select list of collaborators, then create a new conservation as required. Only collaborators who have been invited to the conversation can participate in it. Any people you invite to the conversation can invite others.

Creating a new conversation

Click the Conversations tab and click Start a new conversation

On the Create conversation screen:

  1. Give the conversation a name.

  2. Click Create conversation.

The new conversation is shown.  

Adding someone to a conversation

Before you can add someone to a conversation, they must already be added to the project.

To add someone to a conversation, click on the title of the conversation.

Click Add person to conversation.

Select the person to add to the conversation and then click Done.


The person is added to the conversation and they will receive an email to notify them.

Sending messages

To send a message all collaborators in the conversation, click on the title of the conversation.

On the Conversation screen, type the message and then click Post Reply.

Who has seen my conversation? 

Any member part of the conversation will be able to see which other members have also viewed the message. 

Click on the eye to view who has opened or seen the conversation. 

You will be able to see the date and time in which the other member/s have viewed the message.

A tick will be displayed if the message has been read by all members. 

Sending a file

Conversations allow for conversation members to share files with one another.

To upload a file to a conversation, you can either drag and drop the file on to the UI or click Attach file.

During the upload, you will be prompted to include an optional message about the file. To finish the upload process, click Post.

Files uploaded to conversations can be viewed by all members of the conversation by clicking the Files tab and selecting file they want to view.

All files are scanned for viruses when uploaded. If a file is determined to be suspicious, members will be unable to open or download the file until it has been marked as clean by Data Republic.

Message notifications

Notifications for unread conversation messages will be delivered in the Data Republic platform as well as by email.

Message notifications in the Data Republic platform

Unread message notifications appear on the top right corner of the Data Republic platform.

Click on the notification bell, and click on the Conversation you want to view.

The new message will be displayed.

Message notifications by email

Unread message notifications will also be delivered by email.
Click Open to view the Conversation message in the Data Republic platform.

Next step: 

Add Data Packages to your Project

Did this answer your question?